A Great Way To Remember The Fair Housing Act Protected Classes

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination based on race, color religion, sex, national origin, handicap, and familial status.  There are some exceptions to this law, but the biggest problems I see students having is just memorizing the seven protected classes.

Sometimes students think that any kind of discrimination is illegal.  That’s not the case.  Like that apartment that won’t rent to pet-owners — that’s legal.  That real estate agent that wouldn’t show you a house in a $500,000 neighborhood because you only make $200 a week and have $10,000 to put down — that’s legal.  That landlord that charges a higher security deposit to smokers – that’s legal.  Why?  Because pet-owners, low-income, and smokers are not on the list of protected class.  Don’t add anything to the list!  It’s only race, color, religion, sex, national origin, handicap, and familial status. You have to know the list for the Florida real estate sales associate exam.

A very common memory peg is FRSH CRN.  That works for people who don’t know how to spell, but I won the spelling bee in the third grade. I know that fresh corn has vowels in it.

I work at a timeshare resort, so I think timesharing is the best way to vacation.  The acronym I teach my students is: Families crave resorts, not small hotel rooms.

Families (Familial Status)

Crave (Color)

Resorts (Race)

Not (National Origin)

Small (Sex)

Hotel (Handicap)

Rooms (Religion)

I came up with this acronym myself, and I think it’s pretty good (and I’m humble too!).  If you want to learn more memory pegs, check out my review class at Demetree School of Real Estate.

Please note that neither I, nor anyone in the Climer family, have any affiliation with Climer School of Real Estate.  My father, Ron Climer, sold Climer School of Real Estate in 2014.  You can find me at Demetree School of Real Estate